Skip to content

Day Thirteen of …

January 13, 2017

A genuinely mindnumbingly boring day turned into a frustrating evening with great ease.

I met Lucy at Lewisham for handover with Henry and took him home on the bus. He had a light dinner then a nice hot bath to relax him. Then I tried to put him down. He was NOT interested. I tried to settle him a couple of times with no success so I gave up temporarily and brought him down to the living room, leaving him in his play pen aka The Baby Cage. 

I got on with sorting my dinner out and doing some left over washing up. Half an hour later I decided to turn again. 20 minutes later I had succeeded. However not before getting a little angry and raising my voice a little. I’m not proud of it but it’s been a LONG day. He’s happily snoring away now and hopefully he’ll be doing it for good few hours yet!

I managed a little more writing today for my course. One of the tasks was to add further detail to characters so I further developed the character of the old man in the bank and of the observer. Have a read, what do you think?

It wasn’t until I’d been sat there for a few minutes that I noticed him. The old man sat patiently waiting for his wife to finish depositing their earnings. His unkempt snow white beard and scruffy clothes were betrayed by active, piercing blue eyes. I thought to myself that he appeared like he might be wearing everything he owned but his expensive looking patent leather shoes spoke of a different life. Perhaps his one indulgence was the shoes – marvellously shined, patent leather oxfords. And it is pretty cold out, he could really be feeling it. Layering a fur collared jacket over another thick, heavy buttons jacket over a large cable knit jumper he looked huge and small at the same time. Not like me who’d wear shorts and t-shirt in a blizzard but on this occasion, because of work, I was in trousers, jumper and my pea coat. Sitting in the bank waiting area, eying the other occupants, our gazes never met. I watched as he noticed the movements of other customers with interest. He could have been doing the same as me, trying to decide why everyone else was there. What’s his story? I wonder if she’s paying in her lottery win? 

At his wife’s direction he slowly rose to his feet and shuffled towards the door, towards the bitter cold and rain – his wife followed. He left nothing behind but an empty space and a touch of curiosity.My appointment was running late. It wasn’t until I’d been sat there for a few minutes that I noticed him. The old man sat patiently waiting for his wife to finish depositing their earnings. His unkempt snow white beard and scruffy clothes were betrayed by active, piercing blue eyes. I thought to myself that he appeared like he might be wearing everything he owned but his expensive looking patent leather shoes spoke of a different life. Perhaps his one indulgence was the shoes – marvellously shined, patent leather oxfords. And it is pretty cold out, he could really be feeling it. Layering a fur collared jacket over another thick, heavy buttons jacket over a large cable knit jumper he looked huge and small at the same time. Not like me who’d wear shorts and t-shirt in a blizzard but on this occasion. Sitting in the bank waiting area, eying the other occupants, our gazes never met. I watched as he noticed the movements of other customers with interest. He could have been doing the same as me, trying to decide why everyone else was there. What’s his story? I wonder if she’s paying in her lottery win? 

At his wife’s direction he slowly rose to his feet and shuffled towards the door, towards the bitter cold and rain – his wife followed. He left nothing behind but an empty space and a touch of curiosity. I wondered why I had been asked to follow him specifically. My clients usually give me more information than “keep an eye on this bloke, he’ll be here at this time, let me know what he gets up to for a week.” I managed to maintain a good distance only for a little while. There was only so long you can hang back on an empty street without raising suspicion. And at over 6 feet tall and 15 stone I didn’t blend into the background too well even in my attempted inconspicuous outfit. The problem was most ex police officers thought inconspicuous had to include three main items; a Northface jacket, jeans and Timberland boots. And I was no different.

Tomorrow I’m determined to get to the gym. I haven’t been since last weekend and I’m itching to lift some iron!

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

