Skip to content

Day Ten of …

January 10, 2017

Not a huge amount to report of today.

Work was meh. I didn’t really want to get out of bed this morning. Our room gets cold but our bed is so nice and warm and cosy!

I started working my way through this week’s tasks for the creative writing course. Had to do my first bit of writing! They asked for us to write 50-100 words with 3 pieces of fiction and 1 piece of fact in it. And then there reverse. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it might be. This is what I came up with. Enjoy.

Three facts, One fiction 

The child was hungry. So hungry in fact that as I was spooning the food into its mouth I was afraid I might lose the spoon. It had been this way for days. Perhaps it was going through a growth spurt. Perhaps it was just a greedy little bastard. One thing was for sure if it carried on this way I might have to sell a kidney.

One fact – Three fiction

I like to go running. The problem I have is I can’t. I haven’t been able to for some time. I was told that I shouldn’t by my doctor. Asthma, you see. And it’s actually pretty bad. I have to carry inhalers with me at all times and even the slightest exertion can set me off. Coughing, wheezing, spluttering. It really was not attractive.

This is just the start, obviously, so the quality isn’t particularly good but something is better than nothing.

This evening I’ve managed to settle Henry in a new way. A friend recommended that we not pick him up but instead settle him in his cot. I managed it this evening. Dinner, bath, bed. No cuddle and a bottle as he would normally. And it seems to have worked…so far. More than 3 hours he’s been in bed and he’s barely stirred. A tired little boy he is.

Tomorrow will be a good day once work is out of the way. I’m meeting so friends for a quick beverage after work at a local craft beer pub. I’m intending on trying a couple of new beers before heading home. Let’s see what treats they have for me.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

