Skip to content

Virgin Money London Marathon 2014

May 1, 2013

So yeah, I may have done something pretty stupid. I’ve entered the ballot for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2014. That doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll be running it.

The way it works is that you enter the ballot and in October you find out if you have a place. There are guaranteed ways to get places such as being an elite athlete (which I’m most certainly not) and running for a charity. I decided not to go for a direct charity place because it puts lots more pressure onto what is already a pretty high pressure event. What I think I’ll do is if I get a ballot place, I’ll then contact a charity and offer to raise some money for them. This way the charity can’t impose their targets on you.

I suppose this is yet another goal for me to achieve and I’ll already be in good shape with having a half marathon to run in October. It just means increasing the distance on my training runs.

But for now, this is fast day 1 of week 8 of 5:2 intermittent fasting. I’ll update you later in the week with how I got on.

Until then….

From → Writing

6 Comments
  1. oo good luck

    • Thanks! I’m still in the phase of “I’m not sure whether I want to get the place or not” just because its bloody scary! I’m sure I’ll get more excited though 🙂

  2. victorianeedstoeat permalink

    Wow that’s insane! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

