Skip to content

5:2 Intermittent Fasting – Fast Day 1

March 13, 2013

On Monday I started Intermittent Fasting. Have a look here for more information on it.

I’m going with the 5:2 variety; 5 days a week you eat normally, not worrying about tracking calories but trying to eat clean anyway, and 2 non concurrent days a week you eat no more than 600 calories (500 calories for ladies). 

I was surprised how easy it was until later in the evening…just at that point I would normally have a snack. I stayed strong though and made myself proud. 

My intake for the day came in at a little under 600 calories. Here is what I ate.

Breakfast – a boiled egg and a cup of green tea.

Lunch – a tin of Heinz Oxtail Soup.

Dinner – Turkey breast steak stir-fry (a small amount of olive and seasame oil and soy sauce to season and cook) and an apple for dessert.

Snacks – cucumber and celery crudités.

I drank COPIOUS amounts of green tea and water as well as a cup of caffeinated black coffee.

Tomorrow I have my second fast day…I’ll let you know how I get on.

From → Writing

5 Comments
  1. victorianeedstoeat permalink

    You did really well with it. How many calories do you get tomorrow? Better you than me, but I look forward to your results :).

    • I’m allowed 600 calories again today so I’m going for the same menu. I’ll change it up next week to make sure I don’t go crazy!

      • victorianeedstoeat permalink

        You’re lucky you like tea and coffee 🙂

      • You don’t? You can make your water more interesting with a slice of lemon or orange, even kiwi helps 🙂

      • victorianeedstoeat permalink

        I live off green tea, drink about 9 or so cups a day, have gone off coffee though. Lemon water is good – but when you’re at work/away from home it’s really hard to keep it fresh!

Leave a Reply

