Skip to content

Half Marathon Man

March 9, 2013

I’ve done something really stupid.

I signed myself up to run 13.1 miles…a half marathon. The Bupa Great Birmingham Run.

I’m doing it for charity though… does that count? An awesome charity called Acorns Children’s Hospice.

I’m raising money for Acorns on my Justgiving.com page here.

I’m very nervous. VERY. I have never run more than 10km before. EVER! When I was at school I was a short distance runner. Very short distance. I’m talking 100m at the most. I played football (soccer for you non-UK folk) and I don’t ever remember being tired while doing so so I must have been quite fit.

I started running again a couple of years ago. I’ve run a couple of 5km races and a few 10km races. I haven’t run any races since September and I’ve barely run since then.

I think I should start training…..

I’ve signed up for the Great British 10K through London in July and I’ll probably do a few more races before then as well.

What have you signed up for?

From → Writing

One Comment
  1. Very inspiring! I’m looking at building myself up on the treadmill, and hopefully I’ll sign up to a half-marathon soon enough too! Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

